WhatsApp has finally launched the disappearing feature to Android users. A photo or a video immediately will be deleted from the chat once opened by the recipient through WhatsApp’s ‘View once’ feature.
The feature was already started rolling out to the iPhone users through a new WhatsApp version on Tuesday.
The feature is similar to the disappearing media feature on Facebook’s photo-sharing platform Instagram. With the ‘view once’ feature, photos and videos sent in this mode can be viewed only once.
When sending a photo or video, you can make it a “view once” feature by tapping the “1” button to the left of the send button.
Users will be required to select the view once media option each time they want to send a view once photo or video.
Once the recipient opens it, it’ll be deleted after the single viewing. The recipient will be able to see that it’s a disappearing photo or not.
The message will be shown as “opened” for the receiver once the media content has been viewed.
Users cannot forward, save, or share photos or videos sent or received with the view once media is enabled. However, recipients can take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears.
The photo or video sent using the feature will also expire from the chat if it’s not opened within 14 days.
Senders can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
According to a blog post, when users share something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password, the feature helps to protect privacy.
WhatsApp, View Once media will also have end-to-end encryption. The feature can help users save up more space on their camera roll and better protect their privacy.