WhatsApp Testing a Feature to Disappearing Message for Group Participant

WhatsApp is testing the ability to set messages to disappear after 24 hours.

HIGHLIGHTS:-

  • WhatsApp has added disappearing message support for group participants.
  • Until now, group participants had no control over disappearing messages.
  • WhatsApp is testing the ability to set messages to disappear after 24 hours.

WhatsApp has added support for group participants to disable/enable disappearing messages in group chats. With the feature enabled, group participants will be able to activate disappearing messages.

According to a report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is testing support for group members to disable/enable disappearing messages in the latest beta on Android version 2.21.8.7.

This feature will automatically delete all messages in a disappearing chat. Once a group participant enables the feature, his or her messages will disappear within 7 days.

WhatsApp first rolled out disappearing in November last year. As of now, disappearing messages are visible to the users for the first seven days since the time they are sent.

Disappearing messages:-

A new option will allow admins to select either “all participants” or “only admins” to change the disappearing messages setting.

As you can see in this screenshot, the option “Edit group info” has been updated in order to reflect to the recent changes, such as the option to enable disappearing messages for everyone or group admins only.

 

 

If you are a group admin and you want to prevent any other group member to enable/disable disappearing messages, you should set “Edit Group Info” to “Only group admins”.

This feature is bundled with the ability to change other settings including the group’s subject, icon and description. Individuals can turn on disappearing messages by going to the info of the contact with who users want to enable the setting then tap on Disappearing messages > Select On.

WhatsApp is also testing, for a future update, the possibility to set messages to be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

Follow Techinfo360 for the latest tech news, also keep up with us on Twitter, FacebookLinkedIn and Instagram.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here